Create Some Space in Your Day

a space 2

We have all heard the words, “I need my space” or variations of this sentiment in one form or another. It is usually expressed in relationships when one partner needs some time away from the other or announced preceding a break-up. Though the connotation seems quite negative, it is actually a positive declaration for honoring the fact that we all need time alone, and space in our daily lives.

It can be tempting to busy our schedules with constant events and people, while neglecting some downtime for ourselves or making room in our daily itinerary between appointments. For example, we may set up a lunch date for noon, and then plan a doctor’s appointment for 1:00. Scheduling our day in this way creates unnecessary stress by booking our agenda too tight, and packing too much into a short span of time.

Additionally, we can have such an ordered and routine way of life that we forget to add room for flexibility, and spontaneity as well. For instance, we may fall into the habit of eating at the same restaurants every week, and doing the same activities every weekend. Over time it can feel like we aren’t choosing our schedule but it is choosing us.

a space

Giving ourselves breathing room and adding some variety to our lives will definitely make “needing space” a welcome and positive statement to hear, especially when we are the ones saying it.

How do you create space in your day?

Action Step:

Put some distance between appointments today, and try planning something different for this weekend.

9 thoughts on “Create Some Space in Your Day

  1. That is the key, don’t make the schedule too tight and put some mini meditations in. That way you have some me time in between.
    It is hard to do though. I do morning meditations to start the day!

  2. It took me a long time to realize that the only way to get time to myself was to take it! Also the “difficult” people in my life never want to be alone and never have in my memory. I would be interested to hear what you think of someone who can’t bear and refuses to be alone (and is not old or sick)

    • It would seem that never wanting to be alone would indicate a lack of positive connection with oneself, and not enjoying one’s own company. As Blaise Pascal says, “All men’s miseries derive from not being able to sit in a quiet room alone.” That being said, not everyone requires the same amount of alone time as others, and it’s hard to know for sure how others spend their time or how they feel inside. Usually, the best indicator of a happy internal environment is the way we treat ourselves and others, which hopefully it is a wonderful experience. :)

  3. On the spot, again, Cathie! Thank you. :)

    I always see to allow some unplanned time throughout my day where I can do (or not do!) what ever feels right to me in that moment. Also I noticed that it does me very good to allow some special time during the week – like a whole afternoon or evening – where I can allow that same space. A bit like the artists dates which Julia Cameron suggests in her book “The Artist’s Way” – just without the pressure of having to do something at all.

    Actually, if I don’t allow that space I get pretty cranky, soon, and also my batteries run empty, eventually. – For the longest time I thought, this was a “weakness”. Now I realize more and more that this is, where my strength truly lies. :)

    Much love!

    • Thank you for your wonderful comments Steffi! Yes, it does seem like our bodies and feelings let us know when it is time for more space. Love how you said you used to think it was a “weakness” to require space but now realize it is a strength to honor what you need! :) As always, enjoy what you share. Blessings, Cathie

Leave a Reply

