Embrace the Moment

Many of us have probably had the experience of being instantly transported back in time, when we hear a certain song. That song seems to have the power to immediately reconnect us to a time and place when we first heard it and any associations surrounding it.

Or, we have certain songs that elicit a strong emotional response due to their beautiful lyrics, and are not necessarily associated with a past experience. For example, the song, I Hope You Dance, by Lee Ann Womack does that for me (abbreviated lyrics are listed below), and is not attached to a certain time or situation in my life specifically.

However, the wisdom and serenity in the words imparts many great messages such as:

  • Living in the moment
  • Letting go
  • Dancing or doing any activity that releases our cares
  • Remaining an active participant in our own life, despite any obstacles
  • Not letting life pass us by
  • Remaining in a state of wonder and appreciation
  • Resisting living in bitterness or disillusionment

The beauty in music is that it opens us up to various interpretations, but what’s important is the special meaning it has for each of us. I like the dance reference in the song, and metaphorically speaking, the words remind us that in life, it is occasionally nice to sit in the audience, but we also need to be part of the performance as well.

For example, I took dancing lessons as a child, and provided recitals for my family and friends. When I look back over those moments, I enjoy the image they represent, and re-living the experience of letting go. Dancing allowed me to be totally in the moment when I was performing, and when watching other performers as well.

During those few moments on stage, I was completely free of any thoughts of the past or worries about the future, and just enjoying the experience. Although not everyone associates letting go or living in the moment with dancing, we can all point to something that puts us in that particular state of mind.

For some, it might be playing an instrument, painting a portrait, or being engrossed in a good book.

In those moments, you lose all sense of time and all of your concerns melt away. One could say that you lose yourself, only to find yourself a far richer and more evolved person as a result of these experiences.

Song lyrics

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean

Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances, but they’re worth taking
Loving might be a mistake, but it’s worth making
Don’t let some Hell bent heart leave you bitter

When you come close to selling out, reconsider
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

Action Step:

I hope you dance!

 

8 thoughts on “Embrace the Moment

    • Thanks for your nice comments, it was good hearing from you. Glad you enjoyed reading the lyrics and being reminded of the song. I had not heard it for a long while either but every time I do, it feels good!

  1. I have always loved that song – thanks for reminding me! Your book looks wonderful too … thanks for stopping by … so many terrific shared interests the works wide web brings together!

Leave a Reply

