Write a Life Purpose Statement

Many of us have heard the term, mission statement, particularly in reference to the corporate culture. It is defined as, ‘A summary of the aims and values of a company, organization, or individual.’ A mission statement is a brief description of our fundamental purpose and answers the question, “Why do we exist?”

A vision statement on the other hand, answers the question, “Where do we want to go?” It creates a picture of the future and the framework for all strategic planning. Creating a vision statement allows us to declare our hopes and dreams. It guides us toward our desired outcome and what we are trying to build.

Why all this talk about mission and vision statements?

Because both statements provide the clarity and direction needed in order to achieve what we desire. Many of us have a vision of what we want to accomplish, but still need to articulate, formalize and strategize around it.

Therefore, I thought it would be interesting to combine the mission and vision statements into one, and title it our life purpose statement. It can be used in much the same way that successful companies utilize their goal setting declarations for guiding the direction of their businesses. You can think of it as a photograph in words for your future.

I’ve created the following sample life purpose statement, which states my desires, as well as the steps I’d need to take in order to make them a reality:

I desire to live a holistic life that nurtures my mind, body, and spirit, while inspiring those around me. In order to accomplish this work of love, I will increase my self-care efforts by continuing to improve my thinking, honoring my physical health, and connecting daily with a spiritual practice. The resultant energy and love from my actions will positively affect the quality of my own life, and all those I come in contact with.  

Action step:

I encourage you to write a life purpose statement. Personalize it as much as possible by using your own unique style.

4 thoughts on “Write a Life Purpose Statement

  1. I love this idea! I did a little bit of this in my ‘About’ page but now I feel encouraged to really write it down, more specifically, to create my own ‘photograph of my future’. I love it. Thank you!!
    With gratitude, Gina

    • It is amazing how powerful writing things down can be! The clarity it provides is extremely helpful. So glad to hear you feel encouraged to do this exercise, and create a more detailed picture of what you desire. Thanks so much for the great comments. Blessings, Cathie

Leave a Reply

