Find Your Way Home

I had a friend growing up who could draw extremely well, and created some of the most beautiful pictures. The eyes in her drawings for example, were so real and vivid, as if looking at a photograph. I ran into her many years ago and of course, these wonderful creations were one the first things I discussed with her as we reminisced about the past.

She, on the other hand, remembered the wonderful birthday parties that my mom used to throw for me. We laughed about how we enjoyed playing Pin the Tail on the Donkey, and Clothespins in a bottle which were common childhood games before everything turned high-tech.

Besides all the games, there were great prizes, food, and a great deal of love put into each and every party by my mom. Her efforts did not go unnoticed, as her kindness left a lasting impression on all of us. She had a way of making everyone feel at home. Unfortunately, my sweet mother wasn’t with me long, as she passed away when I was just 10 years old. Even though she departed physically, she has always remained in my heart.

So, whenever I hear the song entitled Coming Home, from the movie soundtrack Country Strong, it reminds me of her and symbolizes being surrounded by love. However, contrary to the tragic ending in the movie, I enjoy being alive. Though I miss my mom, it is wonderful to hold these beautiful memories of her, and this song just touches that special place inside. I am thankful to her for being such a magnificent person, and for providing me with such a strong feeling of being deeply treasured.

For me, the song also symbolizes coming home to yourself by finally being comfortable in your own skin, and feeling love in your heart. It is about ceasing to run from painful memories, and focusing on the good ones instead. Home is where the heart is, and it’s wonderful to share your heart with the people you love, and spend time in the places that speak to you deep inside as well.

For example, even though I wasn’t born near the ocean, I feel at home whenever I am near it. The first time I saw the beach, I fell in love with it. It speaks to me, as I am always taken away by its beauty and expansiveness, just like love.

What does home mean to you?

Action Step:

Enjoy the Coming Home video below.

2 thoughts on “Find Your Way Home

Leave a Reply

