Savor the Silence

all human unhappiness

One cannot underestimate the importance of silence in our daily lives. Silence can have a profound impact in the way we think, our daily actions, and the way we operate in relationships. When we don’t allow ourselves to reflect and catch our breath; we miss out on the transformative power and growth that occurs in being quiet. As a result, we are less emotionally present to others and ourselves.

Often, when we don’t allow stillness into our lives, it is because we are trying to escape the pains of:

  1. Restlessness
  2. Irritability
  3. Loneliness
  4. Self-doubt
  5. Boredom

These feelings can make it difficult to be silent, and sit in a quiet room. Therefore, we seek solace in the internet, texting, television, and the like; thinking these will bring us happiness and drown out any discomfort we may feel.

Certainly, these forms of technology and entertainment are not a bad thing, as they can be quite useful and positive. However, it is only when we don’t balance the busyness with some quiet time, and stop noticing what’s going on in our inner world, that it can be harmful.

After all, the way to meaning and happiness is found through introspection and facing who we really are, rather than running away from ourselves. When we only fill our lives with noise, activity, and distractions; it moves us away from transforming our mind, and connecting to a deeper sense of fulfillment.

Many of us find it difficult to turn off the radio in our cars or not have any background noise in the house. It can feel uncomfortable to just sit with ourselves and not be “doing” or “saying” something or “listening” to others. We’re so used to cluttering up our minds with constant noise that it becomes hard to hear ourselves think.

Therefore, incorporating some quiet time into our lives on a regular basis will help free us from the onslaught of racket that interferes with our personal development.

It is amazing how many benefits come from giving ourselves the gift of silence, such as:

  1. Connecting to our true self and divine nature
  2. Noticing our innermost thoughts
  3. Discovering our deepest desires, wants and needs
  4. Cultivating a closer relationship with ourselves
  5. Getting nourishment, insights and support from within
  6. Less seeking for answers outside ourselves
  7. Gaining a strong intuitive sense
  8. Finding peace within
  9. Experiencing spiritual enlightenment
  10. Feeling a connection between our heart and mind

The more we make room in our lives for stillness and tranquility by turning off the noise that claims our attention; the more we are able ‘hear’ the messages from our inner selves, and stay quietly in a room.

Action Step:

Savor at least 5 minutes of silence today.

24 thoughts on “Savor the Silence

  1. You have touched on a goal I have been trying to reach for WEEKS now!!! SInce I was told about the inner voice and how to quiet that voice through stillness… I have been having a VERY hard time of it! I will try to apply some of your examples! Thanks !

    • I appreciate your honest comments and admire your goal of desiring stillness. It is not easy to quiet down, but it helps to set the mood by lighting a candle, reading something inspiring and then meditating on it. Also, it can help to picture in your mind an animal you love, or a place in nature that makes you feel good, and focus on that. I like picturing a puppy on the beach, as it makes me smile and is calming. Hope that helps! 🙂

  2. Love it! I’m a big meditator myself, so having quiet, restful spaces around me is super important. In fact, I was just sitting here in my little workroom noticing how nice it is that there’s nothing to hear but the sound of a fountain, and the cars going by on the wet street outside. I like to close my eyes now and then as I’m working, and just listened to the small sounds around me. It’s very soothing. 🙂

  3. This is a powerful post. All the social media can be used to avoid facing ourselves or for reassurance or, in fact, like a security blanket of sorts. Silence can be regenerative and offer peace. Thank you for this.

  4. Hi Cathie, I LOVE visiting your blog. How true. Reading your articles brings silence and thoughts we sometimes forget in the hustle-n-bustle of life. When it comes to high-tech tools (I worked in high tech for 25+ years), if used wisely/productively, we have places like this to come and refresh/rejuvenate our thoughts/being. Thank you. 🙂 Fae.

    • Hi Fae, My sincere thanks for your very meaningful comments! It is heartwarming to read that you consider this blog a refreshing place to visit! Definitely, the wise use of technology can connect us, while the misuse can create the opposite effect. So glad we have this format for sharing the good stuff! 🙂

  5. Oh, yes yes, love this, I take a whole lot more than five minutes, its become a part of my daily routine. I need a little more time than others….to process….I guess as seems to be needed. In all honesty, sometimes I think its decadent to be so reflective and at times I feel guilty about that. Then again, I remain true to my inner self which stays more in touch with God and brings out the best of my creativity…that I continue to seek. So,, thank you for sharing. In fact I should consider to structure a time for having quiet time. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your terrific comments! I love your enthusiasm! Yes, so true, five minutes can seem way too brief! Once we experience the wonderful benefits from it, the amount of quiet time seems to grow and can even feel decadent, like you said. So wonderful to hear that reflection is part of your daily routine, and a big part of your life! 🙂

    • Many thanks Sloan! Your wonderful comments are always appreciated! And, I am honored you selected me for the Blog of the Year 2012 award! Your nomination means a lot to me, and congratulations to you on your awards as well. It has been a pleasure getting to know you, and finding we are of like-mind in many ways. Blessings, Cathie

  6. Yes, yes, yes to this, Cathie. I love the quotation. It is so true, not being able to sit with ourselves in a quiet room, is the root of unhappiness. If we can’t bear our own company for even a few moments, then how can we bear to inflict ourselves on others?

    I think I have improved with this, but it has taken some doing!! I stumbled upon mindfulness meditation 18 months or so ago and I have tried to incorporate some practice into my life. I find it especially helpful when my mind is racing and the negative spiral looms large. It’s wonderful to be able to sit quietly and let the thoughts come and hopefully go without engaging with them and weaving a horror story.

    Thanks for the post.
    Corinne

    • Hi Corinne, Well said! I really enjoyed and appreciated your wonderful comments! It is always great to hear how others apply the calming practices that are available, such as mindfulness meditation. Learning to replace the negative thoughts and scenerios with positive ones is definitely a process but worth the effort. Blessings, Cathie

Leave a Reply

