Make Sleep a Priority

sleep

Many of us spend a considerable amount of our waking hours devoted to improving our careers, relationships, finances and health. However, we tend to neglect a very important component to enhancing all of these areas, and that is getting enough sleep.

Unfortunately, getting a good nightโ€™s sleep is usually the first to be cut out of our busy schedules. It seems to take a back seat to many other priorities throughout the day.

For example, it is not uncommon for many of us to work or study late at night, thereby using our sleep hours to meet our deadlines, daily agendas and social media commitments.

Ironically, lack of sleep actually makes us less efficient at improving our life, achieving our goals, and meeting our commitments.

When we are sleep deprived it can lead to a multitude of consequences such as:

  1. Lethargy at work
  2. Irritability and strained relationships
  3. Health deterioration and disease
  4. Poor judgment and decision making
  5. Slower reaction times and falling asleep at the wheel
  6. Decreased ability to learn
  7. Trouble retaining information

We all need proper rest in order to get rejuvenated.

While it may seem obvious that sleep is beneficial, we may not realize the full extent of its value. Studies have shown that getting sufficient sleep on a regular basis plays a vital role in promoting and contributing to:

  1. A lengthier life
  2. Improved health
  3. Emotional well-being
  4. Mood elevation
  5. Clearer thoughts
  6. Increased energy
  7. Better memory
  8. Improved stress management

This certainly is strong motivation to make sleep a top priority, and not allow ourselves to become sleep deprived.

Another component of sleep deprivation is the unhealthy sources of instant energy consumed in order to combat the lethargy we feel the next day. We often turn to drinking large amounts of coffee or other caffeinated beverages and eating extra sugar in order to get going and keep going.

Moderate amounts of these products can be enjoyable but excessive quantities can create other unpleasant issues.

Are you a good sleeper?

Action Step:

Try sticking to a regular bedtime each night for the next week, and see how much better you feel.

ย 

18 thoughts on “Make Sleep a Priority

  1. You know, I had trouble sleeping for much of my life – woke often, had anxiety and nightmares, night sweats, etc. etc., until finally I figured out that I was carb-sensitive and stopped eating them most of the time. Now I sleep really well, straight through most nights.

    I like to meditate for a while before bed, because it shuts down my brain like you might shut down a computer. A little gentle stretching before bed works wonders, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Great sleeping suggestions Jennifer! I do similar practices as well. So glad you found the reason for the disturbed sleep you were having. I have recently reduced my soda consumption considerably, and now go to bed at about the same time each night. Both have helped me sleep much better. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. If I don’t sleep 10 hours a day, I can’t work everyday. I noticed that while working with clients by doing energy work, it makes me more tired than any other job I had in the past. Sometimes I will just take an 1 hour nap during the day. I totally love your post, have a great day!

  3. Hi Cathie!

    Thank you for picking up this very interesting content. Once more it is right on the spot for me.

    Lately my sleep got much better, fortunately. Actually I cannot not sleep enough, anymore. I simply don’t function when I don’t calm down and rejuvenate appropriately. On the other hand, as you mention in your post, I am noticing that I am much more effective during my awake time. In fact, I would go so far to recommend some amount of relaxation time throughout the day additional to the regular sleeping time. Although my mind does not fully understand, yet, HOW it works I know that it DOES work for me – with much more ease and grace than before I allowed myself this space. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Much love,
    Steffi

    • Great to hear from you as always Steffi! Your honest and insightful comments are always a pleasure to read! Yes, the recommendation for relaxation throughout the day is definitely a powerful one, and a huge factor in the quality of our day too. I love how you allow yourself the space to rest, ‘with much more ease and grace!’ Beautifully stated and a gentle image. ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings my friend, Cathie

Leave a Reply

