Feed Your Hunger

recipe

Dr. Robin L. Smith is a best-selling author, ordained minister, keynote speaker, and licensed psychologist. You would think with all these credentials, that she has always been blessed with confidence, clarity and contentment. Not so.

There was a time when she reached a crossroads in her life and hungered for a more satisfying existence. That discontentment inevitably led to a huge turning point for her.

She began listing, and going after those things she wanted to experience which are shown below:

I’m hungry for real love—not crumbs I try to call a meal.

I’m hungry for relationships where respect is the cornerstone of the connection.

I’m hungry to be in relationships that don’t require me to dim my bright light to be given a seat at the table.

I’m hungry to have my gift and talents truly appreciated by those I work with.

I’m hungry to not need to dumb myself down so that others feel smart.

I’m hungry to have a partner who doesn’t feel like a predator.

I’m hungry to not have to play small when my spirit and dreams are big.

I’m hungry to be brave and not let fear drive my life.

I’m hungry for an undivided self, soul, life, love, and relationship.

I’m hungry to be me.

Her list identifies many of the things we are all hungry for such as:

  1. Love
  2. Respect
  3. Appreciation
  4. Acceptance
  5. Courage
  6. Wholeness

Often, we stay silent about our desires because we don’t want to risk sounding ungrateful, or silly to those around us.

Unfortunately, we risk much more if we succumb to pretending and hiding from what we really want. We risk losing ourselves, letting other people define our value, and starving emotionally.

recipe 6

To avoid this famished state, we need to apply the ingredients for successful living, in the same way, we need certain ingredients to create our favorite recipe. For example, when shopping at the store, we usually don’t waste our time looking at the items on other people’s lists, or getting the items that others tell us we need for our recipe.

Instead, we put our energy into pursuing those particular items that we know are needed, and have an assuredness that the combination of certain ingredients will produce the desired outcome.

Similarly, in order to get the desired outcomes we want in life, we don’t want to waste our time looking at the goals, agendas or actions of someone else that has differing priorities or desires than we have. Additionally, we don’t want to be persuaded into following a lifestyle formula that contradicts our own.

We do want to start following the directions of our own heart, which will satisfy our hunger and make us less likely to settle for whatever is placed on our plate, or graze on empty substitutes.

Action Step:

Goal setting is a great recipe for success. Write down at least one goal you desire to achieve such as returning to school or getting a job. Indicate the steps you need to take to achieve that goal (fill out an application or send a resume) and the date you plan to send those documents (by April 1).

16 thoughts on “Feed Your Hunger

  1. Interesting and accurate perspective on hunger. I asked myself “what are you hungry for at the moment?” My answer? “To slow down a bit and have a rest” fits in with your other post about getting sleep a priority. I often substitute rest for sweets to keep going. Hmmm…..

    • Yes, I like the idea of identifying what we are hungry for – beyond food hunger. Your question and answer is a good one. Gives clarity to what is needed and prevents filling up on what is not. Like how you tied in the sleep post as well! 🙂

  2. This one was still waiting for me in my inbox to be read… Good that I found it!

    All the points of the “I am hungry” – list are familiar to me. And in my experience it is so very helpful to finaly acknowledge this hunger so that you can go, eventually, and get yourself the ingredients that really nourish you.

    I like the comparism with getting the ingredients for a good meal. The awareness of the fact that we, indeed, don’t look at the shopping list of others when we buy our food my be a life changing one in this context. Furthermore I believe that good food is not just supporting the physical health but the health on various levels of our system.

    Once more, much love! 🙂

    • Nice, glad you found it! Thanks so much for being such a huge contributer to all the articles I post! You add so much ‘food’ for thought in your thoughtful and heartfelt comments! Your generosity in this way is much appreciated Steffi! Yes, the thought of looking at others shopping lists in order to fulfill our own recipe, is about as helpful as looking at others dream lists in order to fulfill our own desires! 🙂

Leave a Reply

