Let Your Creativity Flow

dance

What if we just painted what inspired us, wrote what we felt, or composed a piece of music without worrying about the outcome?

We would feel much freer to let our creativity flow by releasing our inhibitions, experiencing more spontaneity, and having a lot more fun.

Many of us paint, write, dance or draw because it is our particular innate expression of who we are, and comes from deep inside us. We are just naturally drawn to certain creative outlets for expressing our individuality. There is an excitement in the process and experience of seeing our unique creations come to life.

However, when we’re too focused on receiving approval, then we lose sight of the simple pleasures in our chosen activities. We are more inclined to concern ourselves with how it will impact, affect or be received by others; rather than enjoying the process of creating or experiencing something important to us.

dancing 11

For instance, if we love to dance but spend our time worrying about whether or not people appreciate our every dance step, then we miss out on the fun and spontaneity of it all. Unless we are going to be on β€˜Dancing with the Stars’ and being judged specifically on technique; then there is no need for doing it a certain way. It is more fun to dance like no one is watching.

When we create and live in a way that takes the focus off our reviews, then our creativity will expand, flow and grow. Having our own unique blend of skills, interests and talents is not only a wonderful gift to us, but it offers a special contribution to the many other inventive projects and performances around us.

After all, it would be a pretty monotonous place if we all wrote, painted, or presented things in the same way.

Do you let your creativity flow or is it blocked by expectations on the outcome?

Action step:

Think about how differently you would express yourself artistically, if you were not concerned about the results, and then give it a try!

16 thoughts on “Let Your Creativity Flow

  1. You are so right…..my dance teacher always says I think too much, I should just enjoy and let it flow….We are having a performance in July and practice for it now. As I am in the first row I want to be good, not making any mistakes, still if I just dance not thinkin gabou titit comes easier. A friend who sings opera on stage says, she sings for herself when on stage, and enjoys it , so she does not think about all people watching and she does it all naturally. That is the way to do it. I am going to give a more relaxed dnacing a go! πŸ™‚

    • Congratulations on your upcoming dance performance in July. Wow, front row! Very exciting. I am a ‘thinker’ too, so letting it flow doesn’t always come naturally. Ironically, it probably provides a better performance though. I’ve talked to golfers who say that when they don’t focus on all the particulars in how they hold the club, stance etc. they have more fun and play better too. Love that your friend sings for herself! Good role model! πŸ™‚

  2. This is the second post I’ve read on letting my creativity flow so I think someone is trying to tell me something! Love your reminder that we need to just let go and not be concerned about the end result. Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Serendipity again. I have embarked on a journey that is taking me somewhere where the outcomes are not immediately obvious or indeed relevant. Always outcome driven up until recently, this is very satisfying and I am enjoying your input very much.

    • Truly beautiful comments! Thank you for sharing your courageous journey into the unknown; where the outcome will be revealed, and not instantly provided! Great that you are enjoying the process, no matter where your adventure leads!

  4. I am a horrible singer, but sometimes I belt it out anyway. I don’t really dance so well, but I do it anyway. But I have an awful lot of blog entries that are unpublished drafts because they’re just so … Uninhibited. Time to publish them? Maybe … Thanks for the food for thought!

    • There does seem to be a fine line between freely expressing ourselves, and using discernment in how much we reveal publicly. I love that you sing and dance to your hearts delight though!

  5. So true, Cathie! – And such a beautiful young Lady on the picture!

    I admit that I sometimes still let my worries – about how others may perceive what I do – block my creative flow. But I am stepping beyond that a bit more each day and allow myself a free expression as good as I can.

    Quite recently I finally allowed myself to step into the artistic flow and fully accept my sovereignty in this area. That was a big step but it is also very freeing and gives me much more joy!

    Stepping beyond our own fears and restrictions can be very challenging at times. What always helps me is to take a close look at the people who do what they do in a way that I admire. What do they give into their expression that inspires me? And is it possible that I may find some of that within myself? – Usually what inspires me most is authenticity as well as the joy and love that these people put into their work – no matter what kind of profession they have. Can I be authentic? Of course I can. Can I do what I do with joy and love? Yes, I can. (When ever the answer is “No” I ask myself how I can experience what i am missing – either in what I am doing or in doing something else.) That always gives me courage for the next step adn it is a great wayshower for me.

    It’s a long comment, I know – but your post inspires me! πŸ˜‰

    • I’m happy to hear you were inspired by the post. Yes, the little girl is a ‘cutie’ but no one I know personally! It seems very natural to have concerns about how our work is received but it is a great goal to still create in spite of it. As you say, each day we can step beyond the fears. How exciting that you are expanding your artistic flow! Others can definitely be inspiring and a good example of how to ‘feel the fear and do it anyway.’ Even the greatest, successful people no doubt felt and feel challenged at times, which can be helpful to know too! Thanks for the great, authentic comments Stefanie! πŸ™‚

      • Also I am noticing how supporting it can be to reach out to others – especially those whose work we admire. I have just been talking about that with my partner a minute ago.

        Often we are afraid to open up to the people we look up to because we think we are not good enough. I did act like that for a very long time and by that took away the chance of true support and inspiration – not just for myself but also for those I did not connect with.

        Obviously I made a different choice, some time ago. Just a moment ago I told my partner how happy and grateful I am to suddenly find myself in a circle of people who do what they love and whose work I admire. I noticed how people reached out to me that I actually look up to. And I experience how beautiful it is to allow inspirational and encouraging exchange instead of making myself small and clinging to the belief that I am not good enough. Feeling humble and grateful, yes. Feeling small and unworthy, no. Instead I choose to reach out, as well.

        And, again, I am grateful to know you!

      • Beautifully stated Stefanie! Sounds like you are in a really good place, surrounded by a great group of support. It is wonderful to reach out like you did and experience such wonderful results! Excellent! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

