Write An Appreciation Letter

appreciaiton 1

Beautiful eulogies are written to reflect the positive feelings, thoughts and memories about a departed loved one. A great amount of time and effort is taken to write this declaration of appreciation to express how much the deceased was loved and admired.

At these times, we often wish we had expressed these beautiful sentiments to the person directly while they were still alive to hear them.

With that in mind, we can start to pay tribute to those we love while they are still here, by writing an appreciation letter. In it, we can mention all the specific things we value about our loved ones and give it to them now!

It is tempting to think we have endless time to tell those around us how we feel, but that is not always the case. We don’t want to miss the chance to tell the special people in our life how we truly feel, while we have the opportunity to do so.

Creating a positive handwritten note lets those closest to us know how we love and appreciate them today, and how our life is better because they are in it. Think how it would feel to our recipients, to receive a beautiful message expressing all the positive feelings we have for them.

Verbally expressing our affection is very important too; however, the written word can be saved and read for years to come, when we are not around to voice it anymore.

The main thing is to convey our appreciation. So, if the handwritten method will delay the writing of our appreciation letter than emailing, or texting our thoughts will still have a profound impact on the recipient.

These wonderful acknowledgements let others know the full extent of their importance to us, and remind us how grateful we are for their presence in our lives. This makes writing these letters a transforming experience for all concerned.

It can also be very healing to write words of appreciation to ourselves as well!

Action Step:

Compose a letter of appreciation and let the good feelings flow!

25 thoughts on “Write An Appreciation Letter

  1. This is a great post Cathie and such good thoughts. It’s all to easy to leave things unsaid. I like the idea of the physical letter or card because of its permanence. I also think its often easier to write things down and leave someone to read it in their own time – some people find face to face emotional quite difficult, Lovely post! πŸ™‚

  2. Cathie, I would like to tell you how much I appreciate you and your very helpful and thoughtful blog! It’s always wonderful to read your positive ideas. I can always depend on being uplifted by your words and suggestions! Thank you!

    • Wow Jody! I am touched by your beautiful comments! My heartfelt thanks to you! It is always a joy to see you here, and visit your lovely blog as well! As a fellow beach lover, I appreciate how you capture all the beauty and magic of the shore, while sharing your thoughtful self along with it! It is great connecting with you! πŸ™‚

  3. Cathie, this is a wonderful post! I have an appreciation letter my daughter wrote to me when she was 13 years old. She’s a woman now; but I have read it many times over the years. It is one of my most valued possessions. Have a fantastic day! Love & Light, S

    • I love it Sloan! What a priceless gift to receive from your daughter! How great that you will have it forever! Thanks for sharing this, and always adding positive energy here and on your blog! Appreciate seeing the reblog as well. πŸ™‚ Blessings, Cathie

  4. What a wonderful idea, I like to write one for my sister. I do so appreciate you and your writings, so wonderful, inspiring and helpful. thank you so much Cathie

    • So glad you liked it, and want to write one for your sister! What a treat that you included me in your appreciation writing Ute. Thank you so much for your lovely words. I appreciate your warmth, kindess and generosity! It is a pleasure connecting with you! πŸ™‚

  5. Well, first of all, I saw that you won a Blog of the Year Award for 2012, and that’s why I stopped by. This is what I did for my mom for her 80th birthday, I put together a list and the title was:
    80 Reasons Why I’m Glad You’re My Mom…she read it aloud at the party I threw for her (the men wandered off, but the women all stayed through the whole thing–I had NO IDEA she was going to read this out loud!!!) Certainly, some parts of it only my immediate family members would understand, other items were more universal. She was thrilled as she probably didn’t know the effect she had on me for a lifetime with one small gesture.
    Love your idea of doing it while they are alive to appreciate it!

    • So glad you stopped by. Wow, I love your birthday gift to your mom. It is fabulous that you had 80 reasons to put on the list. She sounds amazing, and what an amazing daughter too! πŸ™‚ I can imagine it was a quite a hit for all concerned, by getting to hear it read aloud. That beautiful idea created a wonderful birthday and memory! Thank you for sharing this lovely appreciation experience! πŸ™‚

  6. What a great idea! I started off writing a normal letter this evening; I’m going to finish it off with words of appreciation. πŸ™‚

  7. This is such a beautiful idea, Cathie!

    I really appreciate your presence which I perceive through your posts. It feels warm, loving and openhearted to me. Your communication through the comments is always full of kind care for those you are interacting with. Thank you for your presence, for sharing and exchanging your insights with us and for shining your beautiful, warm light into the world. πŸ™‚

    Much love,
    Steffi

Leave a Reply

