Eliminate Excuses

a excuse 6

The poem below is a fun example of how a pattern of excuses can start when we are very young avoiding our homework; all the way into adulthood, explaining why we can’t do, be or have what we want.

Our explanations may not be as imaginative and entertaining as those listed below, but whatever the reasons, it’s often just easier to do the work instead.

Enjoy!

My Excuses

I started on my homework
but my pen ran out of ink.
My hamster ate my homework.
My computer’s on the blink.

I accidentally dropped it
in the soup my mom was cooking.
My brother flushed it down the toilet
when I wasn’t looking.

My mother ran my homework
through the washer and the dryer.
An airplane crashed into our house.
My homework caught on fire.

Tornadoes blew my notes away.
Volcanoes struck our town.
My homework was taken
by an evil killer clown.

Some aliens abducted me.
I had a shark attack.
A pirate swiped my homework
and refused to give it back.

It took so long to make these up
I realized, with dread,
it would have just been easier
to do the work instead.

Arielle Perkins

a excuse 4

What assignment are you avoiding?

10 thoughts on “Eliminate Excuses

  1. That was fun, really good excuses, but I do like Garfield best!
    We all make excuses sometimes and it is better to just get on with it as excuses don’t make the work disappear.
    Great fun post, Cathie, thanks!

    • Yes, Garfield is a lot of fun, and certainly has his own style! 🙂 So true, that we all make excuses sometimes but can choose to avoid making them a constant way of life! Plus, as you say, it doesn’t make the work disappear! Great comments Ute, thank you!

Leave a Reply

