Just Do It!

a workout

I am not one of those people who jump out of bed in excited anticipation for my morning workout. However, I do love the feeling of taking care of myself, and the exhilaration AFTER a workout is complete. Therefore, despite the mental gymnastics in deciding if I should go to the gym or not, I do manage to get to my exercise class on time.

a workout 3

This process is a little like having a devil on one shoulder, and an angel on the other. One side is protesting and wanting to relax, while the other implores me to “Just Do It”, like the Nike commercials have been saying for years.

a workout 2

It’s empowering to exercise regardless of my mental debates, but I am always left wondering why I resisted in the first place.

What area of life do you find challenging, and how do you resolve it?

Action Step:

Give your debating mind a rest, and do what’s good for you instead.

 

8 thoughts on “Just Do It!

  1. “For every minute you spend debating weather or not to [fill in an activity of your choice] you could be [fill in the activity of your choice, again]”

    Dear Cathie, I absolutely agree!

    Although I prefer to get my “work out” in the shape of extensive walks or through dancing or other activities that don’t even look like “sports” on the first sight, resistance can occur, sometimes.

    More often I am noticing those debates when it is about taking some time for myself. Like, writing my morning pages, doing a little morning walk, taking an hour of nourishing solitude… Yet, when I do it, I feel so much better and wonder, why I resisted it in first place.

    Thank you for this motivating post!

    Much love,
    Steffi

    • Yes, there are so many ways to ‘workout’ and dancing is one of my favorites too. It is interesting how doing good things for ourselves can be met with such resistance at times but at least we still do it! Great to hear about all the nourishing ways you take care of yourself as well. Thanks for the wonderful comments and have a lovely weekend! Blessings, Cathie

  2. Very true. I am motivated by your post to walk more. My dogs would be very pleased. I find I like walking in the evening best so I don’t have to worry about sunburn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

