Bring Forth Your Best Self

a freedom

“I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.

– Michelangelo

It has been said that when Michelangelo was asked how he carved his marble masterpiece of the biblical hero David, he responded by saying, “I chipped away everything that wasn’t David.” 

He spent years sculpting and chiseling away all that was blocking his image of David from coming forth within the marble that surrounded him.

This is analogous to how our life experiences can sculpt and shape us as well.

Even though some of us learned more beneficial ways to deal with life situations than others, we all tend to have certain thought patterns, habits or manners in which we behave that block our best selves from shining forth.

We can get lost behind stored up anger, frustration, low self-esteem, and depression that come from accumulated disappointments and loss.

This collection of emotional baggage can hide the best version of ourselves, and keep us from discovering our true nature behind it.

Microsoft PowerPoint - Emotional Baggage Poster

Therefore, in order to unpack some of our unresolved concerns or burdens we have to take a look inside, and inventory the contents.

A good way to start is by taking some time alone to write out any troubling situations, thoughts, and feelings in detail without judgement.

This helps us find out what is weighing us down, and draining our emotional energy. From there, we gain awareness and compassion for ourselves while seeing what actions we can take.

Maybe we’ll discover we need to spend more time with supportive people, forgive someone or set some boundaries and ask for help.

What processes have helped you lighten your journey?

 

6 thoughts on “Bring Forth Your Best Self

  1. Thank you, dear Cathie, for this profound advice and encouraging post!

    Personally, I currently go through the process of letting go of baggage I carried for others or accepted from others.
    This includes to closely to listen to my inner compass as well as to what I really want as opposed to what I think I should want. It also includes to stop allowing others to distract me from going where I need to be, now. This includes simple everyday actions like, for example, not taking up the ringing phone when it interferes with my calm time or pausing an interesting talk with a family member if they choose to stay in the kitchen while I feel (and expressed) the need to sit down in the living room.
    By allowing myself to be consequent – and being it! – with performing those little actions FOR myself (as opposed to against somebody else), it seems to be much easier for me to also find ways to incorporate this into the bigger plans of life. Sometimes the doors actually open by themselves in places where there had not even been a tiny hole, before.

    Hope, you are well! ❤

    Much love,
    Steffi

    • Wonderful comments Steffi! I really appreciated reading your everyday examples of how you take actions FOR yourself. Though they may seem small, are actually HUGE in significance. As you say, the seemingly little actions make it easier to take our self-care into bigger areas as well. Love the way you describe listening to what you really want, and not what you SHOULD want. Living more authentically is true happiness. Thank you for your always insightful thoughts my friend. Blessings, Cathie

  2. I have gone “no contact” with people who have been very unkind to me in the past. I forgive them but made the decision to not allow them to trash my boundaries anymore. The result is I am happy and having a go at some “serious” fiction. My creativity has been liberated as has my trust. ❤

  3. I love that Michelangelo quote and story, Cathie. What an amazing way to look at the world. I spent most of Friday writing out a list of ‘options’ for an issue I’m currently facing. I find writing things down really helps – it takes the worries from the brain, down the arm, into the hand, and onto the paper. Sometimes there are no ultimate solutions for these things, but it helps to get them out xxx

    • Love the way you describe the funneling of worries down from the brain onto the paper Dianne! So true, that even if an immediate solution or action does not surface, the process of the written exercise in and of itself can be quite healing. Always enjoy your wonderful comments!

Leave a Reply

