Know Your Worth

a to the wrong person

The quote above is a good reminder of how futile it is to focus our attention on those that are wrong for us, when there are people that are absolutely right for us.

We need to know our own significance and treat ourselves accordingly, and then we will recognize when someone is right for us, as their treatment of us will match our own.

Certain individuals will never be able to give us what we need, but that is not a reflection of our value unless we allow it to be.

Naturally, it can feel very personal and upsetting to hear unwelcome comments or experience inattentiveness by someone we wanted to connect with. However, it is more disturbing to continuously try to get something from someone that is not available.

On the other hand, what a gift it is to find like-minded individuals with whom we organically connect with, and who unconditionally appreciate our existence.

It is extremely beneficial to our overall well-being to spend focused time with those who feed our soul, and the authentic, intimate sharing that makes life so satisfying.

That’s why it is important to spend our precious time with those that most closely reflect the values that are important to us, and with whom we feel most valued by as well.

We all have different requirements and expectations for what we desire in relationships, so what might be right for one person is not for another.

However, what is universal is that though none of us are perfect, there are those that are perfect for us which means everything.

What makes you feel valued?

Action Step:

Be intentional with whom, and how you spend your time today.

 

6 thoughts on “Know Your Worth

  1. Dear Cathie,

    Thank you for this beautifully written article which rings with so much truth for me.

    Only yesterday I have been reflecting about old friendships, as I basically stepped out of all my old connections, by now, for exactly the reasons mentioned in the above article.
    When we grew up and/ or have been infiltrated with certain programmes (including experiences of abuse) it can be difficult to choose friendships and generally relationships that allow us to be valued.
    Personally, I can say, it is not that all the people I have ever met had no intention to live such a relationship or value me (although I have had encounters like that, too). But I had a tendency to meet people who, like myself, could not value themselves very much (hence, we could not truly value others, as well) combined with a tendency that when I met people that did value me, I could not allow it and made myself small.
    The question, what makes me feel valued, is one I cannot answer in one or two sentences, at the moment. (Something to ponder about…) But I know that it all starts with giving value to myself, first, as stated so aptly in the blog post, above.
    I can say, however, one indicator for me is, that if the connection flows naturally and organically, then this value is usually reflected back to me. If, on the other hand, I feel like I cannot make myself clear and I suddenly lack words, feel stupid and like I am hitting a wall, I probably have just encountered someone who does not value what I have to give. 😉

    Much love,
    Steffi

    • Hi Steffi. Thank you for your thoughtful response, and complimentary comments. It does seem that ‘we live what we learn.’ If we learned or interpreted that we weren’t important growing up, then unfortunately we tend to live that belief out in adulthood. Fortunately, however, we can unlearn unhealthy messages too, and live out a more positive existence. I like the expression, ‘hurt people, hurt people.’ As you say, it isn’t that people necessarily are trying to wound us but they are often wounded themselves and can only give what they have. The healthier we get on all levels, the more we move away from the old and go toward those like-minded individuals who value themselves, and are capable of valuing others too. Sounds like you are doing exactly that. 🙂 Blessings, Cathie

  2. Great post. it is a wonderful life when we free ourselves either and or physically or emotionally from people who try to hold us down. It isn’t easy but it is worth it. Fear of poverty can keep us trapped but It reminds me of a proverb “Better a dry crust eaten in peace than a house filled with feasting–and conflict”
    ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Pingback: What Makes You Feel Valued? | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

  4. Pingback: Wodurch Fühlst Du Dich Wertvoll? | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

Leave a Reply

