Get Inspired

surround yourself with those who love you

I recently shared this quote on my Facebook page, and like so many others, this one gets to the heart of things in a few words.

It’s actually wonderful to see so many people posting, and sharing all kinds of heartfelt phrases, and expressions on their sites to inspire those who visit.

The topic of why people are so drawn to quotes was recently discussed on Super Soul Sunday with Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild, and the story behind the movie of the same name.

She says, “We’re hungry for consolation, we’re hungry for inspiration and the truth. And what a quote does is it delivers in a very concise, powerful form that little jolt of that thing you needed to hear, that thing you forgot, the thing you knew, the thing you didn’t quite understand that’s now been articulated.”

Well said.

What are some of your favorite quotes?

 

10 thoughts on “Get Inspired

  1. “Don’t be dismayed at goodbyes, for a farewell is necessary, in meeting again, and meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those are friends.” Richard Bach, from the book “Illusions.” 🙂

  2. I loved that quote too and I am on pinterest and made a board called “people who make peace” and I pinned your above quote there. My favorite quote today for myself and everyone reading it is “you matter” ❤

  3. Thank you for sharing this quote also with your WordPress readers, dear Cathie!

    There are so many beautiful quotes like the one from Karen Salmansohn you shared above (which I love and did not know, yet). Not long ago, I have been wondering about what is so fascinating about quotes myself and, I find what you have shared from the discussion with Cheryl Strayed is spot on.
    One quote that I also love a lot and which just came up between me and my husband, yesterday, comes from the song of a German musician called Casper and translates to:

    “The purpose of life is life. That’s it.”

    Although I do not know a lot about Casper or his songs, I find this sentence very freeing. 😉
    Much love,
    Steffi

    • So glad you enjoyed the posted quote, and the subject of quotes as well Steffi! Love the one you shared too, “The purpose of life is life. That’s it.” That is freeing like you said. We get to enjoy being alive! Thanks so much my friend. Blessings, Cathie

Leave a Reply

