Stay True to You

stay-true-to-you

As we know, several people can say the same thing or have the same basic message, yet we respond to each person differently. This seems to result from the many different and unique ways we all express ourselves, which appeals to certain groups and not another.

For instance, many of us have favorite authors we love, and will buy whatever they put out in the world or whatever they recommend. We like what they represent and connect with their ideas. Conversely, another writer can say the same message but we aren’t interested or inspired by their delivery.

As for myself, I connect with Dr. Christiane Northrup, as I find her information to be credible and empowering along with her recommendations, especially after my health scare last year.

Recently, she recommended a book by Anthony William entitled, Medical Medium Life-Changing Foods: Save Yourself and the Ones You Love with the Hidden Healing Powers of Fruits & Vegetables.

However, I do like to branch out and explore other writers for a change of pace, and have come across many who use very colorful language in delivering their message. This style appears to be very popular, judging by the number of followers they are attracting, along with their frequent daily social media postings.

It’s great that there are so many approaches available that can reach a larger population, who might not otherwise be open to the positive information being taught. It also makes me appreciate the mainstays I have been following for years, and see why I’ve been drawn to them as well.

In spite of what others are doing, it’s important to stay true to who we are, and use our own voice for our authentic expression, rather than trying to fit into someone else’s mold.

If we all expressed ourselves the same way, it would be very limiting, and would exclude all those who respond to our particular communication approach.

How do you stay true to you?

8 thoughts on “Stay True to You

  1. Dear Cathie,
    Thank you for this beautiful article and thank you for staying true to you!

    What you are sharing resonates a lot with my own experience – regarding the importance of speaking with our own voice. A choir would not be much of a choir if everybody would sing the same melody with exactly the same voice.

    Personally, I often notice how important it is for me to speak with my own, authentic voice, when I work on the English translations of my blog posts (in the case of the German version coming through, first). As I am not a native speaker I sometimes ask my US-American husband for advice. Perfectionist that he is, he always has a lot of helpful suggestions. However, at times those suggestions include changes that would not reflect my own voice, anymore. We then discuss a lot and, perfectionist that I am I ask a lot of questions (which he patiently answers) until I find a way to express my voice in English that feels authentic to me, even if that sometimes means to sound “German” or to make up a new word.

    It seems that the courage to let something look imperfect sometimes exactly provides the crack that allows authenticity to come in. 😉

    Much love,
    Steffi

    • Hi Steffi, thanks so much for your wonderfully positive comments. I love the way you explained how you stay true to yourself in your English translations example. That must be a challenging process, yet your words definitely convey the essence of your particular voice and message, which is authentic and empowering. Additionally, the choir reference so beautifully depicts how wonderful it is to have many different voices. I always appreciate your thoughtful insights. 🙂 Love, Cathie

  2. Pingback: Sprich Deine Wahrheit mit Deiner Eigenen Stimme | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

  3. Pingback: Speak your Truth with Your Own Voice | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

  4. Pingback: Über die Wichtigkeit, mit Meiner Eigenen Stimme zu Schreiben | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

  5. Pingback: On the Importance of Writing with My Own Voice | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog

Leave a Reply

