Never Stop Learning

 A fun movie clip for those who sometimes miss the simplicity of earlier ways of communicating!

Currently I am taking another class toward a Master’s Degree in Addiction Counseling, which keeps me learning on a daily basis. The content and volume of work assignments definitely stretches my mind.

Then there is learning beyond the classroom, where all kinds of life lessons are going on as well. We all get handed learning opportunities in all kinds of ways throughout our life.

I always enjoy uncovering the emotional patterns and resultant choices that get in the way of experiencing joy, in order to move beyond them.

After all, how many of us stifle ourselves from making certain choices or pursuing certain desires by believing the discouraging comments from others, or believing our own limited thinking as well.

Unfortunately, we can unwittingly sabotage our self-esteem or enjoyment by comparing ourselves to others, and somehow come up short.

One place that is ripe for comparison is found on social media where others can appear to have it all. Often, it’s a good lesson to not believe everything we read or see online.

Seeing shouldn’t automatically lead to believing!

What has been your favorite life lesson?

2 thoughts on “Never Stop Learning

  1. Dear Cathie,
    I just checked your blog to see if you have a Twitter account and got hung up on that hilarious movie clip. Naturally I also read the post above which you have written so beautifully. Thank you for both!

    Maintaining a curious and interested attitude towards those life lessons has proved to be very helpful to me, although I admittedly have experienced one or the other phase where I was not able to keep it up – one of them quite recently. 😉
    One of my favourite life lessons, however, is a very happy one:
    During a phase of my life where I did not feel too well and had rather low self-esteem a very kind lady in a pub once said to me:
    “Steffi, mach Dich doch mal groß.”
    (Why, Steffi, make yourself big.)
    This, coming from a loving, open-hearted person like her, has changed my life in an instant. And still, many years later, when ever I feel small or unworthy, I remember this moment which then changes my attitude.

    So, you ARE going to college. Awesome!
    Still wishing you all the best for those endavours. 🌹
    Much Love,
    Steffi

    • Hi Steffi,
      It was so good to read your comments. At the present time I don’t have a twitter account, but so glad you enjoyed the movie clip discussing social media. Love technology, however, it was nice to reduce its usage on vacation these past few weeks, and just connect the old fashioned way with face to face conversations! 🙂 It was also fun just lounging by the beach and enjoying the view without the internet as well.

      Sounds like the woman at the pub was such a blessing to you. I love those experiences where someone says exactly what we need to hear, and it changes the course of our lives. Those connections definitely don’t seem coincidental. Now that I’m on break from school and home from vacation, I look forward to connecting more regularly on the blog and with you as well.

      Many blessings,
      Cathie

Leave a comment