Keep Your Power

keep-your-power

Happy New Year!

Each New Year, I like the practice of choosing a single word as a guiding force and direction for the coming 12 months.

However, this year I am using a THREE WORD mantra that I awoke with as 2017 arrived and it is: Keep Your Power.

So, for example, whenever I find myself worrying, I can internally utter the words, “Keep Your Power,” as a great reminder to not allow my peace to be disturbed by internal fear thoughts, and to upgrade my thoughts to something more positive.

Additionally, my mantra reinforcement can help to keep from reacting to external comments or circumstances, by remembering to not take the words or actions of others personally, thereby reducing feelings of hurt or anger.

It may sound like an easy task to keep our power, but almost all of us can attest to unintentionally giving away our peace of mind to someone else who pushes our buttons, and affects the way we think, feel, or behave.

Therefore, since we only have control over how we respond to our thoughts, feelings, and circumstances, it’s important to have mindful practices in place to assist us in making healthier choices, and take more beneficial actions.

Some of those actions might be a dedicated meditation time, or special readings, that lift our awareness and feelings to a higher place.

I heard someone say the other day that they are using the mantra ‘Don’t be mean in 2017‘ to help remember to put kindness first, when frustrations arise, and they’re tempted to react otherwise.

What phrases or actions are of the greatest assistance in helping you to keep your power?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Keep Your Power

  1. Happy New Year, dear Cathie, and all the best for a wonder-full 2017!

    Thank you for this beautiful blog post. “Keep Your Power” – as usual when you share your beautiful insights this mantra comes to me at the right time!

    To keep my power it helps me to actually concentrate on me first. It may sound egoistic, but only when I am strong within myself can I share my power with others.
    To get there, it helps me to connect with nature and go on walks. It also helps me to connect with my own creativity and express this through art and cooking. Further does it help me to surround myself with uplifting inspiration – like inspirational conversations, music, movies or reading material or also things that I simply find beautiful.

    Keep Your Power – this is such a great mantra that I shall memorize it.
    As you are asking for further phrases that may assist in keeping our power, this one comes to my mind:
    I am valuable and worthy.

    Much love,
    Steffi

    • Wonderful as always Steffi! Happy New Year! Great comments from you to start the year off right! Love your mantra as well. Really appreciate all the examples you gave of how you keep your power, and it’s definitely not egotistical to concentrate on yourself. As you so wonderfully stated, you have to be centered within yourself, in order to be the best you for others too. Looking forward to continued connection this coming year. Blessings, Cathie

Leave a Reply

